NEW MEMBERS - REGISTER HERE


Membership is FREE!
It is best to log in before posting. Anonymous posting is disabled.

Viewing 1 to 14 (14 Total)
Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

jd5live

jd5live
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 360
Joined: June 8, 2014

Dear Members,
Due to the number of inquires regarding problems with the upgrade Ver.7.1 (Download) We feel we must Post this note of Caution !!!!. You will note that we do NOT have the upgrades on the site.One reason being that the only copy of KN6000 upgrades we own are genuine Disks supplied with the SY-EW65NX Expansion kit to update KN6000 to KN6500 This is Ver.7.0 which was also supplied by Technics with any of the NX sound expansion boards Note our KN6000 was also supplied with Ver 7.0 from new.
Following advice from our friendly engineer Dave Tutt we explain our reasons below:-

1/Both the Keyboards and Disks are approx 18 years old. This means the disks have aged and possibly degraded over time and also your Disks Drive will be worn through normal usage and may not be as accurate as they were.

2/The way our keyboards are made is similar to a computer, However they differ in that they are not equipped with their own "BIOS" (Basic Input Output System) is the system used in PC's etc to load Operating systems to then let you configure your PC. They don't have one as they are dedicated musical instruments. So If during an upgrade there is an error/or damaged code you cannot go back and start over !!! To be very blunt about it you will render your Keyboard SCRAP !!! and leaving you in need of a replacement Main Board which are no longer available from Technics.

These are the reasons why this site does not have the upgrades to download as we cannot guarantee the downloads or the installation of them.
If you wish to proceed it is after all your keyboard but remember if it has worked without a problem until now there is no benefit in the upgrade. You might find after this time the upgrade only offered an obscure midi patch for a long time out of date program.

Regards John ADMIN TEAM.

Tags: Announcements, Technics Repairs, Technics instruments repairs
Posted on August 24, 2018 at 3:37 PM
Display Messages: Threaded     Flat
13 Replies

hbinfo100

hbinfo100
Canada

Total Posts: 47
Joined: June 10, 2014

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

Hi John,like you say in your post,,most kn6000 players that they download the version 7.1 from a website there keyboard crash
There a friend of mine that have that problem,So I phone a technician in Pennsylvania who have the same problem So he purchase
the real version 7.1 from Technics and is kn6000 was fix
So I ask him to send me the original so I could send to my friend So he send me the floppy disk to send to my friend.I just have a phone call
from my friend and he shout me MIRICAL everything was fix
So if some members had the same problem ,,try to get the original version from Technics
Bye
Howard

Posted on July 25, 2019 at 2:09 AM

mike0liver

mike0liver
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 26
Joined: December 14, 2016

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

I think I've come to this discussion a touch late. I own KN6500, so I'm not sure if the issue is relevant to me. What, precisely, does the upgrade do - in other words, how useful is it likely to be? My keyboard seems to be working fine and my general attitude is: "if it ain't broke, don't fix it!" But, if the upgrade is likely to offer significant improvements, it might be worth considering approaching Technics.

Howard suggests his friend fixed a problem but I'm not clear if the problem was pre-existing or caused by the original downloaded version 7.1. If anyone can clear up my confusion and advise what benefits might accrue from the upgrade, it would be appreciated. Also whereabouts does one contact Technics?

Cheers,
Mike

Posted on July 26, 2019 at 11:32 AM

admin

admin
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 1085
Joined: February 2, 2014

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

Hi Mike,

Our dear friend John is very ill at the moment so he can't answer.

Howard's technician friend would have bought the disks from Technics many years ago. It is extremely, extremely doubtful that Panasonic would supply them now.

Upgrading should only be done using original disks, and only if your keyboard doesn't work. If it goes wrong there's nobody available to help.

Actually, the word 'upgrade' is a poor description. Technics upgrades give very little benefits at all. Usually they address some spellings in the language files and (as John said in his original post) some obscure midi instructions that very few players would need (only ones who are doing specialist midi work say).

Howard's friend's problem was that his keyboard didn't work because he tried to upgrade it using a downloaded upgrade disk off the Internet. That caused the keyboard to malfunction. It was fixed by getting hold of the original disks.

There is no 'Technics musical instruments department' anymore. Panasonic has very little information because the Technics hardware, software and most of the other information was destroyed when the department disbanded (I know this directly from people who worked there). Occasionally, Panasonic may be able to get a part for a newer model or refer you to a supplier. I'm not saying that they categorically don't have the disks, I don't know. But in dealing with Panasonic myself I know that it is difficult to be put in contact with anyone who has knowledge of Technics Instruments. When they do, it is second-hand knowledge.

So don't feel you're missing out. If your keyboard is working, play it and enjoy it without feeling that it could be upgraded to something more amazing because that isn't the case.

Best wishes,
Mike

Posted on July 26, 2019 at 7:18 PM

hbinfo100

hbinfo100
Canada

Total Posts: 47
Joined: June 10, 2014

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

Hi Mike,first of all my prayers goes to John and hoping he will recover soon
Like I told you I have a friend in Pennsylvania who have some technics keyboards and he is a technician and he help me very much and he send me many styles.
They was an add in a web site that there where a kn6000 for sale for $200.00 and in the add he explain is problem that he have download the version 7.1
from a Germain web site and with this version is kn6000 crash and he was looking for the real version from Technics
So I phone my friend in Pennsylvania so he can help,
He add the same problem many years ago and he purchase the real version 7.1 from Technics,he told me that the version was only for the kn6000
and is problem was resolve Now is kn 6000 its not for sale
So he send me the 2 floppy disk from Technics so I can send them to the guy that have the same problem.I recieve a phone call from the guy and he
told me its a miracle,he was so happy you cannot imagine,now is kn 6000 is working like new.
After I send the floppy disk back to my friend in Pennsilvania and he to was very happy.
Now like you said Mike if your keyboard works fine dont download a firware or upgrade if it not safe
To find the real version 7.1 for the kn6000 from technics it will be very very hard to find except a musician have the real version backup
Thanks
Howard

Posted on July 27, 2019 at 3:52 AM

mike0liver

mike0liver
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 26
Joined: December 14, 2016

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

My best wishes to John for a speedy and complete recovery - please keep us posted.

I had a feeling the response to my query would be along those lines. The KN6000 is pretty long in the tooth and doesn't seem to be lacking in any department that needs a new or updated operating system, so anything issued that far back would probably have made the forums before now if it was that critical. I can appreciate the feelings of Howard's friend because you & John were able to resolve the problem I had a couple of years back and my response was exactly the same.

I'm still seeking a solution to replacing my old Atari ST/Breakthru' Midi system with something for the PC but the techno boys seem intent on giving me such complex software, offering stuff I neither want nor need, that I can't work out how to use the software for what I do need. Never mind, I enjoy playing my keyboard with its existing on-board functions and I don't have to worry about setting up complex midi features on my computer.

Once again, my very best to John.

Cheers,
Mike

Posted on July 27, 2019 at 11:11 AM

admin

admin
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 1085
Joined: February 2, 2014

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

Hi Both,

Thank you, I will pass your best wishes on to John. He talks about the website all the time but he won't be up to using the computer for some long while.

Now, regarding software I may have some treats for you.

I'll be sending a newsletter in the next few days with information about additional downloads. These will include New Styles and Software to organise files on floppy disks.

For playing back midi on your keyboard, I recommend Falcosoft Midiplayer, which supports Technics instruments and hads NX Sound capabilities

http://falcosoft.hu/softwares.html...

For Editing and playing midi files I recommend Midiworks PA Plus, which supports Technics KN7000 and KN2600. This support is mainly for NX Sound and will work with KN6000. If you like, I will lase with the developer to get support for KN6000 added (and maybe some other models). Let me know if you intend to purchase because that will help to motivate the inclusion of KN6000 support:

http://www.midisoft.pl/en/ (As you will see, it mentions Technics KN7000 and KN2600 support further down the page as we worked together on that previously.

For the bees-knees of using your computer and keyboard together, I recommend vArranger. The developer has worked with me to provide Technics support, so that it can directly play Technics Styles:

http://www.varranger.com/

You really need a touch sensitive computer screen to use it easily. It is superb.

I will also have a few rare, genuine Panasonic 1Gb SD Cards available shortly packed with Styles.

Best wishes,
Mike

Posted on July 27, 2019 at 11:38 AM

mike0liver

mike0liver
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 26
Joined: December 14, 2016

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

Thanks, Mike, for the links. I shall follow them up when I get back home this evening. Just to re-iterate what I'm seeking, I'm looking for a replacement for a Gajits software package called "Breakthru". It's a sequencer designed to run on the Atari ST and I have produced several song files which provide me with, if you like, a backing tape to play my keyboard with. Many of the voices I use are on sound modules but Breakthru' controlled all the midi messages to those modules. I could input the notes as standard music notation on a step-by-step basis. But I could make it sound like the original recording of the song when it played back (I got quite good at it).

Sadly, my old Atari ST has stopped working and I can't use Breakthru' any more. It was late 1980s technology and, I guess, not wanting to appear "out-of-fashion" the modern software designers are offering programmes with audio recording, mixing, sampled sounds all of which are great for youngsters recording stuff in their bedrooms (and very good luck to them) but of no use to me whatsoever. Everything has become over-complex and I no longer have the expertise to use the product.

Anyway, I will check out what you've sent me and see if it looks promising - thanks.

Cheers,
Mike

Posted on July 27, 2019 at 2:14 PM

admin

admin
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 1085
Joined: February 2, 2014

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

Well.... you will find that you can run an Atari ST Emulator on PC and run Breakthru if you really like it!

However, it was a slightly wild guess by me that Midiworks PA Plus would seem like an updated Atari ST sequencer to you, sufficiently close for you to get to grips with it very quickly. I've taken a quick look at Breakthru and it looks like a similar interface.

If not, there are plenty of other straightforward sequencers I can recommend for you. No need to get complicated smiling

Posted on July 27, 2019 at 4:08 PM

mike0liver

mike0liver
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 26
Joined: December 14, 2016

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

I'm taking a longer look at Midiworks PA+ but I notice the software is "dedicated for Korg PA series instruments" and I wonder if that would render it unsuitable for the Technics KN series. I'm trying to locate a demo video or some blurb - the download page is not that informative.

I attempted the Atari Emulator route and fell foul of the usual problem with tech-heavy activities. I just couldn't understand how to get the Breakthru' software to load into the emulator (STEEM) once I'd fathomed out how to set that up. It didn't seem to recognise the Breakthru' launch file and I got into a dreadful muddle with what disk drive to put various files into. Also, it all seemed to be crammed into a small window and was difficult to sort out. It's probably me with my technical knowledge rooted in the 1980s and my brain in the 1960s smiling. I was originally encouraged by the idea of the emulator but, in the end, gave up because I just couldn't understand what I was supposed to be doing.

If I draw a blank with what you've provided so far, I'll get back to you on the subject of uncomplicated sequencers. I appreciate your help.

Posted on July 29, 2019 at 11:49 AM

mike0liver

mike0liver
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 26
Joined: December 14, 2016

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

I've had a look at the other links you sent me. Unfortunately, excellent as I am sure they are, neither Falcosoft nor Varranger seem to serve the purpose I have in mind. I used Breakthru' for several (about 30) years and got very familiar with it. It served my purpose perfectly. I have about 3 floppy disks with dozens of song files stored (NOT Midi files) that, I think, will only play through Breakthru' software - which was designed exclusively for the Atari ST. I can live with the fact that these files are very unlikely to be available to me in the future but I would really like to re-create them on some other sequencing software. The big problem seems to be that such software seems either to be no longer relevant to the musical community or so buried in a plethora of other features that I shall never be able to disinter it!

I don't want vast numbers of sampled voices to play from my computer, I don't need to record audio or have super DJ mixing desks or anything more that the ability to use step entry of musical notation into a sequencer, which then allows me to choose which midi channels the sequencer uses to send its various messages to the sound modules it is controlling. I then want to play my KN6500 to the accompaniment of this "backing". Not very technical, not at all ground-breaking and not all-singing, all-dancing in its scope. Maybe therein lies the snag: it's too simple for today's world of music technology.

If, after this whingeing rant, you still feel able to help, Mike, I would be eternally grateful. Maybe you can point me at someone who could take me through the Atari emulation in simple steps - that would really be great.

Posted on July 29, 2019 at 2:10 PM

mike0liver

mike0liver
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 26
Joined: December 14, 2016

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

Just as an aside, this link gives a good overview of Breakthru':http://www.muzines.co.uk/articles/breakthru-tutorial/2355....

Posted on July 29, 2019 at 2:57 PM

admin

admin
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 1085
Joined: February 2, 2014

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

Mike,

In brief for now...

I'll take a look at your link on more depth soon.

I don't know much about Atari emulation but if you can get it working once then you would be able to export your sequences as midis, or send to your Technics and record (to export as midi or save as a seqeuncer file). I'm sure if you ask on an Atari forum someone would do it for you. I'll look into it more when I have chance.

Falcosoft midiplayer sends midi to the instrument but it also received control changes from the instrument. For example, you can change the sound that is playing on your Technics, say from piano to strings, and Midiplayer 'knows', and can save the changes back to the midi file.

Midiworks PA is compatible with Technics KN7000 and KN2600 (it mentions it further down the page I linked you to but not directly under the first image of the programme). I worked on it with the programmer to make it so. The actual compatibility is NX, so it works fine for KN6000, KN6500 and other NX models.

Let me know whether you prefer an editor based around music notation or around 'bars and dots' (like Midiworks and most of the older midi editors) and I'll identify (a) good one(s) for you.

Best wishes,
Mike

Posted on July 29, 2019 at 6:10 PM

mike0liver

mike0liver
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 26
Joined: December 14, 2016

Re: Attn. KN6000 Owners Upgrade Problems !!!!!

Hi Mike:

If only I could get it working once! However, I will have another go later and see if I can identify exactly what my problem is. I'll also try the Atari forum again and see if I can drum up any support.

I prefer a music notation editor. I own Cakewalk by Bandlab, which I have been assured will do the job and it has a music notation editor, but it is so complex that I have no idea where to start. That is further complicated by an error message telling me there is insufficient memory to set up my midi devices.

I was advised to download a Japanese product called Sekaiju and did so. Whilst it looks relatively simple and seems capable of doing what I want, I'm suffering from the problem of a manual translated from the Japanese and no step-by-step instructions on how to get the software set up. Also, it has no instrument definition file for my Technics 6500, so I can't try to set things up specifically for my keyboard.

I'm going up the pub!

Posted on July 30, 2019 at 12:28 PM